I’ve always been into reading; my mum and I can famously read books in 24 hours on holiday! I love getting in bed, under the blankets, with a great book and escaping this crazy, hectic world. I love being able to imagine the characters and their surroundings. I love comedies, tragedies, memoirs (particularly Jennifer Worth’s ‘Call the Midwife’), books that pull on your heart strings, books that make you think, historical novels – basically, I love a lot of different kinds of books.

quentinblakematilda-429x300
Matilda: my favourite book character as a child.

But since starting uni I only seem to read for my courses and not for leisure. I’m also ashamed to say that I haven’t read many of the great and classic novels.

So this year I’ve created a ‘booket’ list (basically a bucket list for the books I want to read). These are some classic novels that I want to read, alongside the comedies/rom-coms/memoirs that I dip in and out of. I’m under no illusion that I will be able to finish all of these books this year but perhaps within the next few years I’ll have been able to cross a fair few of my list!

So here it goes:

  • 1984 – George Orwell
  • The Tempest – William Shakespeare
  • Moby Dick – Herman Melville
  • Ulysses – James Joyce
  • Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain928cc921887809b089b7151eaf50ff7b
  • Les Misérables – Victor Hugo
  • Cranford – Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
  • Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
  • Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë
  • David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
  • Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  • Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë
  • The Portrait of a Lady – Henry James
  • Middlemarch – George Eliot
  • Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
  • Emma – Jane Austen
  • Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  • Beloved – Toni Morrison
  • To Kill A Mockingbird – Harper Lee
  • Underworld – Don Delillo
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Milan Kundera
  • A Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Atonement – Ian McEwan

Wow!! That’s a lot of books! I’ve started by downloading quite a few onto my kindle and I’m already half way through 1984 by George Orwell, and I only started it 3 days ago! I’ll be coming back to this blog post and ticking the books off as I go along so you’ll be able to follow my progress.

P.S. if you have any suggestions of more books, classics or otherwise, please leave a comment and I may add it to my list!

 

 

 

