Ok, so something very weird has happened to me.

I went to my German grammar class yesterday, and I enjoyed it?!

Now normally, if anyone mentions the word grammar to me I want to run a mile. I dislike it immensely. There are so many rules, and so many exception to the rules and so many rules that make no sense whatsoever!

Maybe it’s because I’ve had a whole summer without German lessons, or because my brain needed a new challenge. But I left the classroom feeling happy that I’d accomplished something new. Yay me!

I have a very active brain, sometimes too active (especially when I’m trying to get to sleep!) and it needs a lot of stimulation or it gets bored. As a child, I used to get to the end of the summer holidays and be chomping at the bit to get back to school to learn new things. It wasn’t because I missed school, but because my brain needed some intellectual activity to keep it occupied.

So learning the difference between the subjective and objective use of modal verbs in German may not sound particularly interesting, but for me it has given my brain a wake up and a good work out!

Now, let’s see if I can remember how it works for next week’s lesson….(that may be a different story!)

